until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

Formula E

Jaguar choreography earns Monaco Formula E 1-2

by Matt Beer
3 min read

until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

Jaguar pulled off a team choreography masterclass to take a Monaco Formula E 1-2, with Mitch Evans ahead of its current main title hope Nick Cassidy.

The pair had started from the second row but moved to the front via early attack mode deployments by front row duo Pascal Wehrlein and Stoffel Vandoorne.

Once in position to control the race, Cassidy and Evans alternated in holding the pack back so they could clear their own attack modes without losing their 1-2 formation.

That allowed them to serenely manage a race that got extremely messy and destructive in the pack behind, and featured two safety car periods - a long one for a heavy Edoardo Mortara crash at the Swimming Pool entry and a shorter late one when Nico Mueller ended up stranded at Rascasse following contact with Jake Hughes.

With Jaguar policy dictating that whoever is in front at 80% distance doesn't get challenged by their team-mate, Evans duly claimed his and the works Jaguar team's first Monaco FE win by 0.9 seconds over Cassidy (the 2023 Monaco winner when at Jaguar's customer team Envision).

"I think I get the team-mate of the year award," declared Cassidy over team radio at the finish, having earlier fully bought into the plan and readily accepted that he'd be second in the 1-2.

DS Penske's teamwork was a little more fraught at times in the Jaguars' wake as Vandoorne ultimately denied team-mate Jean-Eric Vergne and Porsche driver Wehrlein the final podium spot.

Oliver Rowland hacked through from 15th to sixth for Nissan, while Porsche's Antonio Felix da Costa recovered from dropping right to the back when caught behind Sebastien Buemi in a multi-car tangle at Loews to finish seventh.

Reigning champion and erstwhile joint championship leader Jake Dennis was the last car running, in 20th, having pitted for a new front wing after an incident with Robin Frijns.

McLaren's 19-year-old reserve driver Taylor Barnard became FE's youngest-ever race-starter when abruptly called up due to Sam Bird breaking his hand in a practice-one crash. Barnard was slowest in qualifying but drove a very respectable race to 14th.

Bird will get further treatment once back in the UK. The next FE event - a Berlin Tempelhof double-header - is only a fortnight away.

Race Results

PosNameCarLapsLaps LedTotal TimeFastest LapPitstopsPts
1Mitch EvansJaguar I-Type 6311858m15.455s1m32.203s025
2Nick CassidyJaguar I-Type 6314+0.946s1m31.561s019
3Stoffel VandoorneDS E-TENSE FE23317+3.835s1m32.564s015
4Jean-Eric VergneDS E-TENSE FE23310+4.799s1m31.912s012
5Pascal WehrleinPorsche 99X Electric Gen3312+6.378s1m31.757s013
6Oliver RowlandNissan e-4ORCE 04310+6.792s1m32.059s08
7António Félix da CostaPorsche 99X Electric Gen3310+7.364s1m32.127s06
8Sacha FenestrazNissan e-4ORCE 04310+7.928s1m32.434s04
9Maximilian GüntherMaserati Tipo Folgore310+8.262s1m32.239s02
10Norman NatoPorsche 99X Electric Gen3310+9.045s1m32.144s01
11Lucas Di GrassiMahindra M9Electro310+9.889s1m32.527s00
12Nyck de VriesMahindra M9Electro310+10.183s1m32.527s00
13Daniel TicktumERT X24310+17.999s1m34.000s00
14Taylor BarnardNissan e-4ORCE 04310+18.128s1m33.498s00
15Sébastien BuemiJaguar I-Type 6310+18.452s1m33.883s00
16Jake HughesNissan e-4ORCE 04310+18.996s1m32.277s00
17Robin FrijnsJaguar I-Type 6310+19.106s1m32.984s00
18Jehan DaruvalaMaserati Tipo Folgore310+24.269s1m31.052s00
19Sérgio Sette CâmaraERT X24310+24.573s1m33.348s00
20Jake DennisPorsche 99X Electric Gen3310+32.032s1m31.064s00
Edoardo MortaraMahindra M9Electro230DNF1m40.573s00
Nico MüllerMahindra M9Electro30DNF1m33.520s00
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks