until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League


F1 2024 grid complete as Williams keeps Sargeant

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
2 min read

until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

Williams has completed the 2024 Formula 1 grid by committing to Logan Sargeant for a second season.

The Grove-based team picked up Sargeant as an F1 junior in late 2021 and handed him an F1 promotion after a single season in grand prix racing's main feeder series Formula 2.

But a lively-looking start, pace-wise, in Bahrain and Saudi Arabia proved a false dawn for the 22-year-old Florida native - who never outqualified established team-mate Alex Albon during the season and picked up one point to Albon's 27.

Logan Sargeant, Williams, F1

Williams, however, remained steadfast in its intention to give Sargeant every chance to make his case, deciding in the closing stages of the season that it would make a final decision one way or the other once all the races were complete.

But an extension to Sargeant's deal soon came to be seen as something of a formality. And now, on the Friday following the season-ending weekend in Abu Dhabi, Williams has officially confirmed Sargeant as remaining alongside Albon for 2024.

It cited this decision as "underscoring" its "commitment to nurturing and developing young talent in the world of Formula 1".

"Logan has demonstrated immense skill whilst under the pressure of the world stage, making him a perfect fit for our team," Vowles said.

"We have great confidence in his abilities and believe that together we can achieve even greater success in the upcoming season."

Logan Sargeant, Williams, F1

Sargeant's confirmation is the final piece of the 2024 grid puzzle, leaving F1 with an effectively unchanged roster.

The only driver who started the 2023-season opening Bahrain Grand Prix but isn't contracted for 2024 in the same seat is Nyck de Vries - but the Dutchman was already replaced by Daniel Ricciardo midway through 2023, and Ricciardo saw out the season while also being confirmed for the following year.

Complete 2024 grid

Red Bull: Max Verstappen, Sergio Perez
Mercedes: Lewis Hamilton, George Russell
Ferrari: Charles Leclerc, Carlos Sainz
McLaren: Lando Norris, Oscar Piastri
Aston Martin: Fernando Alonso, Lance Stroll
Alpine: Pierre Gasly, Esteban Ocon
Williams: Alexander Albon, Logan Sargeant
Red Bull's B-team: Yuki Tsunoda, Daniel Ricciardo
Sauber: Valtteri Bottas, Zhou Guanyu
Haas: Nico Hulkenberg, Kevin Magnussen


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks